White Chocolate Snowflakes Recipe

White chocolate snowflakes

White chocolate snowflakes and hearts. Yes, they look a lot like pretty soaps.

I’ll admit it – I’m not much of a baker. I like to blame it on the fact that I’m wheat-free, so nothing ever quite works out right – my cupcakes just aren’t spongy enough, and my Yorkshire pud tends to look like somebody sat on it. Truth is, I was bad at baking before I cut the wheat out, but we’ll ignore that for now.

When it came to making something sweet to nibble on Christmas eve, then, I needed a recipe to suit a novice. Waitrose’s Chocolate Christmas Stars recipe fit the bill perfectly, because it requires no baking whatsoever.

All you need are a couple of packs of white chocolate (I used Cadbury’s), a dribble of double cream, shelled pistachios (I couldn’t find any pre-shelled ones – do they actually exist?), flaked almonds and dried cranberries. You can pretty much decide on your own measurements, but if you’re a stickler for details, everything’s on the Waitrose site.

As for the method, just melt the chocolate and cream (I cheated and did it in the microwave), mix everything together and then flatten it all out on a sheet of greaseproof paper. Chill it in the fridge for an hour, then cut out shapes with a cookie cutter – I used snowflake and heart cutters but you could use a tumbler if you haven’t got any to hand. Once they’re done, keep them covered up in the fridge until you’re ready to start nibbling.

Once I’d cut out all the shapes, I was left with loads of leftover bits that I didn’t want to waste. I had a couple of clear plastic bags left over from my wedding favours, so I chopped up any big bits, chucked them in, and stuck one of my stamped labels on to make a little gift. I think I prefer these little bags of loveliness to the actual snowflakes!

White chocolate nibbles

A nifty gift... or a mean midnight snack.

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertaining, Gift ideas

Leave a Reply

