Fabric Jam Jar Toppers

Fabric Jam Jar Tops - Rhubarb Chutney

Rhubarb chutneys with fabric jar toppers

My mother-in-law gave me some rhubarb a few weeks back, so I made some rhubarb and ginger chutneys to give as Easter gifts to family (not the kids, mind – I’m not sure a chutney can ever replace a chocolate egg). I settled on a recipe from the British Food site called Plopping Away Chutney, partly because it was so easy and I had all the ingredients in my cupboard, and partly because I can’t resist a silly name.

It took about an hour to make (you literally just chuck it all in the pan and leave it to plop), and I just sterilized some recycled jars in the oven and used wax toppers and the original lids. As for the fabric, I cut oversized circles out of some leftover bits of FabricRehab’s Pretty Patchwork fabric using one of the husband’s pint glasses, and secured with an elastic band.

And that’s it! A really quick and easy way to prettify homemade jams and chutneys, and a brilliant way of using up all those leftover scraps of fabric without having to get the sewing machine out.

Rhubarb Chutneys With Fabric Toppers

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafts, Gift ideas, Sewing projects

Leave a Reply

