How To Make A Taggie Comforter

Taggie comforter

These baby comforters are even easier to make than full-sized taggie blankets (take a look at my previous post on how to make a taggie blanket if you’re after full instructions). Plus, they’re a nice way of using up any offcuts. I made this one with a 30cm x 25cm piece of fleece and a matching piece of cute elephant-print fabric from eBay  – just remember to machine-wash all your fabrics before you start, to avoid them shrinking later on.

I still had loads of ribbons left over from the last blanket I made, so the first step was to tack them in loops and place them strategically around my comforter. Bear in mind you want your base fabric right-side up and your tags facing inwards, like they are in the photo below.

Taggie comforter - step 1

Once you’ve roughly tacked the ribbons in place (believe me, it makes the next bit a lot easier), just place the second layer of fabric on top, with the right side facing down (inwards), like it is below. Pin then tack the whole thing together, ready to machine sew around 3 of the edges, catching all the ribbons at the base as you go. When you’re on the 4th edge, stop about half-way along so you can turn the whole thing outside-in. Then just close the gap up, this time sewing on the outside of the comforter, as close to the edge as you can get.

Taggie comforter

I finished it off by sewing a centimetre trim all the way around the outside of the comforter, which made it lie nice and flat. The photo below shows the front and reverse.

Taggie comforter

As this was a present for a friend, I made a really simple fleece blanket to match (I just edged a 1-metre square of fleece with 3″ ribbon and added a little patch of the elephant fabric in one corner).

Taggie comforter and fleece blanket

A taggie comforter and matching fleece blanket for baby Harry.

And of course, I couldn’t leave the big brother out, so I made him a bag of honeycomb to keep him sweet! I used a recipe from Leon’s Baking & Puddings book (there are 3 in the series, and they’re all equally brilliant), but you can find loads of honeycomb recipes online (try the Beeb’s for size).

The best bit? I’ve got loads left over ‘to store in my cupboard for cake decorating’. If only I thought it’d last that long…

Honeycomb

Leave a comment

Filed under Babies and kids, Gift ideas, Sewing projects

Leave a Reply

