Gift idea: photo tray

Photo tray

I bought a white wooden photo tray for my nan’s birthday recently. I never know what to buy her – there’s only so much Anais Anais one woman can wear, after all. So this seemed like a pretty good option – pretty and practical, right?

The thing is, I couldn’t give it to her empty of photos – it just looked a bit, well, crap. And filling it with my own pictures didn’t work, either. Would she really want to sit in front of the tellie of an evening eating her tea off my face?

In the end, I decided to fill it with pretty things so it looked nice when she opened it, but so that she could add her own photographs later. I left a couple of pictures of the grandkids in for good measure, and the rest of the squares are filled with scraps of fabric and ribbon, bits of stamped paper, and a happy birthday message from us.

The gold fabric is left over from my curtains. and the ribbons were salvaged from a nicely-wrapped present

The gold fabric is left over from my curtains. and the ribbons were salvaged from a nicely-wrapped present

This one's a bit of paper (a charity-shop songbook) with a floral motif stamped over the top

This one’s a bit of paper (a charity-shop songbook) with a floral motif stamped over the top

 

2 Comments

Filed under Gift ideas

2 responses to “Gift idea: photo tray

  1. Claudia Calardo

    Such a lovely idea! Where did you get the tray from? X

  2. Linda

    Lovely pressie

Leave a Reply

