And so it begins…

From top (the big light yellowish swatch), anticlockwise to end at the dark gold in the centre: Farrow & Ball Off-White, Dulux Gentle Fawn, Dulux Soft Truffle, Crown Period Colours Pale Gilt, Laura Ashley Faded Gold, Laura Ashley Old Gold

From top (the big light yellowish swatch), anticlockwise to end at the dark gold in the centre: Farrow & Ball Off-White, Dulux Gentle Fawn, Dulux Soft Truffle, Crown Period Colours Pale Gilt, Laura Ashley Faded Gold, Laura Ashley Old Gold

This is what pretty much every wall in our front room looks like at the moment, much to the husband’s annoyance. I’ve been talking about changing the colour of the walls ever since we bought a rug off eBay that turned out to be a) about 80 times bigger than I expected (my bad – my tape measure wasn’t long enough to measure up properly so I just, er, guessed) and b) very, very floral (yes, it was floral in the eBay photo, too – I think I might have been having a bad day).

'Scuse the mess, but you get the idea

‘Scuse the mess, but you get the idea

Those points aside, the boys seem to have been won over by what we’re affectionately calling The Granny Rug, so it looks like it’s here to stay. Which means my lovely Eau de Nil walls have got to go.

Don’t get me wrong – I’m not remotely sad about this. I realised yesterday when I got my tester pots out and started swatching the place up, there is possibly nothing I like better than painting walls. If C hadn’t woken up from his nap, there probably wouldn’t have been an inch of Eau de Nil left. But that’s just it – I’ve never redecorated a room with a little (and ever-more mobile) boy in tow. Even the trip to Homebase to pick up colour charts turned into a complete Mission with a capital M. Something tells me this could get messy…

I do love a good tester pot

I do love a good tester pot

From top left, anticlockwise: Dulux Gentle Fawn, Dulux Muddy Puddle, (peeking out from the curtain) Dulux Perfectly Taupe, Laura Ashley Faded Gold, Dulux Soft Truffle, Crown Period Colours Imperial Gold, Crown Period Colours Pale Gilt

From top left, anticlockwise: Dulux Gentle Fawn, Dulux Muddy Puddle, (peeking out from the curtain) Dulux Perfectly Taupe, Laura Ashley Faded Gold, Dulux Soft Truffle, Crown Period Colours Imperial Gold, Crown Period Colours Pale Gilt

 

1 Comment

Filed under Homes & Interiors

One response to “And so it begins…

  1. Pingback: Paint I Love: Elephant’s Breath by Farrow & Ball | Turquoise Textiles

Leave a Reply

