Glossing over the problem…

Back wall: Dulux Muddy Puddle, Side wall: Dulux Egyptian Cotton

Facing wall: Dulux Muddy Puddle, Side walls: Dulux Egyptian Cotton

Well, it’s painted at last. After patchworking the walls of my front room with paint samples, and waving goodbye to my good friend Eau de Nil, I took the plunge with Muddy Puddle and Egyptian Cotton. Thank you, Dulux.

I won’t lie. I’m not completely sold on Muddy Puddle, the darker of the two, which we’ve used in the alcoves (the OH and I have decided it should be renamed Crappy Nappy, which might be a tad harsh, but sounds just about as appealing).

Luckily, though, the lion’s share of the room is painted in Egyptian Cotton – a sort of cool stone hue that goes with just about anything (handy when you’ve got a rug with more colours in it than a box of Crayola. Incidentally, we’ve agreed that as soon as Little Boy’s walking we’re going to invest in something a little less pass-me-the-sherry-dear. So if The Granny Rug floats your boat, you know where to find me…)

The only bit I need to do now is the glossing, which leads me to the point of this post. Does anyone have any suggestions for alternatives to gloss paint? I had a bad experience with the Dulux quick-drying stuff in our first house (big ugly brush strokes everywhere) so I’ve used their Professional Liquid Gloss ever since. The thing is, after a couple of months my lovely woodwork is less Brilliant White, more Mediocre Yellow.

I did a bit of reading up on it and I now know it’s down to the VOCs (Volatile Organic Compounds, AKA ozone nasties) being reduced or removed from oil-based paints. Makes sense to me, but is there a decent alternative that won’t yellow over time? Or just something that stinks a little bit less? Answers on a postcard please…

2 Comments

Filed under Home, Homes & Interiors

2 responses to “Glossing over the problem…

  1. Jo Roylance

    Hey, just stumbled across your blog (lovely, btw) as was looking for inspiration (Dulux Egyption Cotton). I don’t know if you’ve already painted the woodwork but the best way to avoid brush strokes is to use a mini roller for gloss / eggshell / woodwork – b&q sell them. I have just bought one to paint our window seat. Secondly, use eggshell – lower sheen which is generally nicer and Farrow and Ball doesn’t fade to yellow.. I use Winbourne White. x

    • KG

      Hi Jo, that is so helpful – thank you! No – I haven’t done the woodwork yet (how long ago did I write that post?!) so I will give the roller and Winbourne White a go. My little boy managed to spill coffee all the way up one of the walls (don’t ask), so I’ll be getting the Egyptian Cotton back out again soon!

Leave a Reply

